An Ode to HB 628 -"You can opt-in any time you like, But you can never leave" [Updated] - Granite Grok

An Ode to HB 628 -“You can opt-in any time you like, But you can never leave” [Updated]

eagles-hotel-california-cover-rhinoInspired by my title for this article… and yes, it’s to the tune of Hotel California.

In an old Concord building
Legislators debate
On the plan for insurance
In HB 628

But the public has found out
They should never relax
What these legislators actually want
Is an income tax

Well disguised as a benefit
For the sick and the poor
They’ll just take a little bit at first
And then more and yet more

They make the claim that it’s opt-out
But that you just can’t believe
You can opt-in any time you like
But you can never leave

H/T Chip Spangler

Update: The subcommittee has voted to ITL HB628. We still need an ITL on the full committee and floor support for the committee recommendation.

Update#2: We have a list of contact info for all the Republicans on the Commerce Committee who need to vote to support the subcommittee recommendation of Inexpedient to Legislate.

Rep. Barbara Biggie (R)
Hillsborough-23 (Milford)
(603)930-5600 – barbara.biggie@leg.state.nh.us

Rep. Michael Costable (R)
Rockingham-3 (Raymond)
(603)303-5217 – michael.costable@leg.state.nh.us

Rep. Elizabeth Ferreira (R)
Hillsborough-28 (Nashua)
(603)320-8971 – Elizabeth.Ferreira.NH@gmail.com

Rep. Valerie Fraser (R)
Belknap-1 (Center Harbor, New Hampton)
(603)744-0107 – valerie.fraser@leg.state.nh.us

Rep. Bart Fromuth (R)
Hillsborough-7 (Bedford)
(603)203-1379 – bart@voteforbart.com

Rep. John Hunt (R)
Cheshire-11 (Fitzwilliam, Rindge)
(603)899-6000 – jbhunt@prodigy.net

Rep. Jason Osborne (R)
Rockingham-4 (Auburn, Chester, Sandown)
(603)391-2138 – Jason@Osborne4NH.com

Rep. Reed Panasiti (R)
Hillsborough-22 (Amherst)
(603)672-4471 – Reed.Panasiti@leg.state.nh.us

Rep. John Plumer (R)
Belknap-6 (Belmont)
(603)527-3444 – John.Plumer@leg.state.nh.us

Rep. Laurie Sanborn (R)
Hillsborough-41 (Amherst, Bedford)
(603)682-1557 – repsanborn@gmail.com

Rep. Vicki Schwaegler (R)
Grafton-3 (Bath, Benton, Easton, Landaff, Orford, Piermont, Warren)
(603)717-0767 – Victoria.Schwaegler@leg.state.nh.us